Creating Social Change

The idea of community development and working to solve social issues has always intrigued me. I think I have read over 100 articles about what the best way to go about social change is. All of the conclusions seem to contribute a piece of the puzzle; yet, much of what they say is contradictory. For example, some tout the benefits of collective impact and coming at issues from a large group effort, some support policy change and a top down approach, whereas others come at the issue from a grassroots bottom up approach. Even in my work abroad, I have experienced the differences – working with huge organizations like Convoy of Hope to working with grassroots orphanages, food pantries, etc. I think the big organizations do a great job at raking in large scale donations and can have farther reaching impacts. But at the same time, grassroots organizations have the advantage of really investing in a single community and possibly knowing their particular needs better. I question, Is it possible to develop a perfect style of aid organization?

Another issue you encounter is the organization that intends to bring about change, but for various reasons their efforts result in greater problems. For example, many debate the effectiveness of Tom’s shoes – yes, thousands of kids now have new shoes, but also, the local shoe makers/stores may now be out of business. I’ve heard example after example of situations such as this. Or what about the idea of learned dependence, which I found to be an issue in Haiti with the hundreds of non-profits operating there. I question, Is it possible to create a perfect organization that only results in positive impacts?

Another problem I encounter is the idea of personal ideologies and even figuring out what exactly mine are or to what lengths to go to carry them out. I found the article “What food says about class in America” intriguing – it talks about all the different food ideologies that people have (health nuts, food snobs, locavores, etc.) and the extents people go to support them. Recently my mom and I were discussing our own food ideologies and trying to determine how “strict” we should be in them (should we never eat meat, only buy local/organic…). How do we balance our values with the reality of food costs, accessibility, etc. I question, Is it possible to have a perfect food ideology?

In reflecting on these questions, I have come to the conclusion that in the end, maybe there is not one perfect style of a non-profit, one perfect way to go about aid, nor one perfect food ideology. Maybe if we all just do SOMETHING that is positive, focused at the betterment of society, and done out of love, we will see change in the world. While we live in an imperfect world and it may not be realistic to expect to eradicate world hunger, I do think we can make an impact on the people around us in our community.

I think one key to change is education and AWARENESS. I like what Pollan says in that article mentioned above: “The goal is not to be absolutist in one’s food ideology – I argue for being conscious, but perfectionism is an enemy of progress.” Just as it may not be realistic to expect to completely eradicate world hunger, it may be unrealistic to carry out a perfect food ideology; however, that does not mean we can’t do SOMETHING. Hopefully we can use our awareness of various social issues to support various causes to the best of our ability.

One thing I’ve loved about my experience with Operation Food Search this past week is the community feel to the organization. I like the idea of being connected to your community members and everyone using their gifts, talents, and resources in service of others. If you have two loaves of bread, give one to your neighbor, and maybe they can return the favor in what manner they can.

Cooking Matters Class with OFS

Cooking Matters Class with OFS

One thought on “Creating Social Change

  1. Small change is better than no change, and even if you can only be that change, it is worth something. A vegetarian saves 400 animals a year. I just saw this stat and it gives me evidence that what I’m doing is making a difference. For me, when I think about animals unnecessarily in pain, my heart breaks for them and truly aches. For me, it’s about compassion for my fellow creatures, ones that don’t have a voice and ones that God wanted us to take care of. I know this is a right choice for me. Sometimes it’s hard, tempting, and not the norm, but when I have encountered a chicken to be killed or a fish taken out of water slowly dying just to be bait for another, I sob for them, aching to change their fate. I actually picked up the fish, and tossed him back in, much to the protest of the fisherman. I just hoped it was in time. For this to hit me so deep, I don’t think people realize. I would like to pass this compassion to my children, let them decide what is the best for all, not just the people of the world, but all God’s creatures. And maybe if I’m lucky, it will also spread to others. I can only live by example and do my part.

Leave a comment